Eligible Countries

Initially, GRMF only supported geothermal activities in the following countries:

  • Ethiopia,
  • Kenya,
  • Rwanda,
  • Tanzania and
  • Uganda.

Based on the mandate of the African Union Commission for a much wider range of countries than the five GRMF pilot countries and on the interest of further countries to join GRMF, from the second application round onwards, projects from the following six additional countries from the East African rift became eligible under the GRMF:

  • Burundi
  • Comoros
  • Djibouti
  • Democratic Republic of Congo
  • Eritrea
  • Somalia
  • Zambia

Country Facts

Country Installed Geothermal Capacity
Burundi 0 MW
Democratic Republic of Congo 0 MW
Djibouti 0 MW
Eritrea 0 MW
Ethiopia 7.3 MW
Kenya 673 MW
Rwanda 0 MW
Tanzania 0 MW
Uganda 0 MW
Union of Comoros 0 MW
Zambia 0 MW